Built around 1610, the Leeuwenburg bulwark was often called ‘BLAUWHOOFD’ or Blue head because of the indistinctive blue colour of its stone. The Blauhoofd was one of the 26 bastions built around Amsterdam and used for the defense of the city until approximately 1850. The leeuwenburg bulwark was located on the northwest side of the IJ. Fire destroyed ‘ De Bok’ windmill, which stood on the bulwark, in 1879.
Explore more about Ludolf Backhuysen in his biography.